Twenty-six members of the Commonwealth are republics, eighteen are monarchies with Queen Elizabeth as head of state and five are monarchies with their own sovereign. All members accept the queen as a symbol of the free association of independent states and, as such, head of the Commonwealth. ["Report of the Commonwealth secretary-general" (Shridath Surendranath Ramphal), Westminster, 1985: 1]